It’s weird how the minute we landed in HK both V and I felt dull and depressed. V would never admit it because he’s the big, strong man. As we drove by the beauty of HK’s seascape in one of its super air-conditioned buses, I murmured: “HK is so nice. If only we could import all our friends and family here.”

Which makes it even weirder that in the next hour in that same bus I ranted at V about how I never want to live with his parents. Of course, being in the same city as one’s in-laws and actually living in the same house (in the back of beyond I might add) is something else.

Anyway, over the course of the next few days I began to feel all grown up. V and I took some major decisions about our lives and our money – both of which have been in kind of flux because we don’t know where we are going to be in the next few years. Strangely, after this trip I feel closer to V than ever too. It’s only four months since our last trip, during which we marked our first anniversary (more like ‘noted’ than ‘marked’ because we actually were both ill and couldn’t do anything special except sneeze in my case and puke in Vs) so I don’t see what brilliant insight could have happened but I seem to have reached some sort of comfort zone.

Of course, as I write this, I am crossing my fingers in my mind. Life has taught me that just when you’re reaching a comfort zone, expect a tremor.

