This should be in the seven things – but then it would be eight things…

I have no idea how to pronounce my own surname anymore.

For a quater-of-a-century (hee love doing that) I have been calling myself an Indianization of my actual surname. But here there are enough people well-versed in all thing Portuguese who know how to pronounce my surname properly. So I end up ocassionally stuttering over my own name.

Honestly – first my name gets butchered all over India and I lack a middle name (having being told by my father that it was Apple and then realizing that they forgot to put down the ‘A’ in my birth certificate – oh god long story) now I have to have existential angst over my surname.

I have decided that once (when/if) I switch jobs, I will switch to coolio Portuguese pronounciation.

