I spent the past few weeks eschewing chick lit for relatively serious stuff. So I’d do a series of mini-reviews here:

This book will go down as one of my favourites just as the film adaptation is one of my all-time favourite films. The film is a study on what, according to me, excellent film-making should be. Spot-on casting combines with a wonderful soundtrack and picturisation that is so sensory it moves you even though the plot is ephemereal. The book is an ambitious attempt to transplant Virginia Woolf’s Mrs Dalloway into the 20th century and to link it back in time and while Cunningham’s opening pales in front of Woolf’s memorable first paragraph, it’s still an awesome effort.

I resisted reading this novel because it sounded like neo-theological mumbo jumbo. Then I read the back and it said it was about a boy in a boat with a tiger and I thought that I couldn’t possibly spend my time reading about another Robinson Crusoe time story. Only I could. I finished the book in about three pages, and most of that is about the boy and the tiger. It’s a feat that the author manages to make it a page turner and still manages to frame the narrative in an over-arching question that takes it beyond the realm of just adventure story in a quite post-modern way.

Slaughterhouse 5 is supposed to be Vonnegut’s masterpiece but I couldn’t find that in the library so I got my hands on this. Jailbird is a semi-fictionalised account of the unlikely events of the life of Walter J Starbuck after he was released from jail for being involved in the Watergate scandal. But somehow this book is more about justice and the meaning of life especially when life has been stripped to essentials and everything has already been lost. It also reminds me why all intellectuals have to have a bit of a leftist foot.

