So I have been plagued by this headache, among other ailments, since last Friday. And since V left, I’ve been walking around with in the kind of daze that always happens when V’s not there.

It’s kind of pathetic but when I’m alone I find myself going through the motions, putting one foot in front of the other in some kind of stupor. I no longer feel that desperate panic that used to engulf me when coming home to an empty house. Nor do I feel the need to make plans for every day of the week to stave off that eventuality. I don’t feel much of anything frankly.

While stoically bearing my headache, resurgent sore throat and tummy upset, and genuinely being upset that because of the latter I cannot go to the gym, I have pretty much been going to work, coming home and going to sleep. Don’t even have the energy to watch SATC properly (gasp!).

And I figured I was ok with that and that means that I am fine being on my lonesome.

Then, yesterday, a friend called and asked me to dinner. And though I was not feeling too well, I said yes. The weird part was, I suddenly started feeling better. Although I was exhausted by the end of it, part of the gloom that had been surrounding me all week lifted.

Well, at least the headache did. I still have a tummy upset and a sore throat.

