This will be my first Christmas in Hong Kong. It’s also the first year we will be decorating our house.
Every year we go to India for Christmas so there’s really no need to do the decorations at home in Hong Kong. In fact I’ve realised how much decorating the house for Christmas is a kids thing.

My parents wait until I arrive to do the decorations which means they’re only up on Christmas Eve sometimes. Surprising because being a klutz I was never that involved in hanging up anything. I only had a say somewhat where it went.

The Christmas tree was my own domain though. I used to spend hours in front of the tree telling myself stories about the ornaments and rearranging them several tines in the season. So it was natural that the tree in my parents’ home would wait for me.

But as an adult I saw it as a bit of a chore. In fact this year I probably wouldn’t have bothered with decorations if my niece wasn’t coming. I felt that she deserves a proper Christmas.

V wanted to get a small wrought iron tree but I insisted we needed to get a green one for her. Don’t know if she’ll care in the end but most kids I know are fascinated by the tree. And then V wanted a wreath and we ended up getting tinsel and then it was like might as well go the whole hog.

The experience has reinforced in me that arranging home stuff is one of the many things I’m not good at. Chandni had written this post some time ago about how one imagines one’s home will be and the reality when it happens. I realized when I had my own home that while I know what I like and what I don’t, I don’t know how to make it happen. I realized the perfect home décor doesn’t come naturally to having good taste and the space.

Money would help because the things I really want are expensive and if I can’t go the whole hog I don’t want to do it at all. But there are people who can do this without a lot of money. Even with money home decor is a special talent.

My sister-in-law has a home that looks like something out of a magazine and she’s a great host, providing all those little touches. I can’t do that. I’m too careless. But it’s annoying to realize that V is better at me than arranging things. Or maybe he’s just more confident. Or I’m too much of a perfectionist to attempt something if I’m not sure it will turn out like I want it without too much effort. So I’m lazy and a perfectionist. Killer combination.

Ironically, the day I wrote this, I noticed my boss mincing around the Christmas tree in our lobby with two baubles in hand. She felt the tree looked bare but confessed she hated doing decorations because she never knew where to put things. I laughed. I realized I’m not abnormal after all.

