1. My Friend Sancho (Amit Varma): Slightly bizarre but enjoyed this. The whole journalist thingie was so close to home. I remember trying to rewrite a write-up about an encounter – we used to use them as fillers when news was short – and being told by the crime writer that we shouldn’t change the wording. Format being – police asked the guy to surrender, he refused, so police were forced to open fire. Right.

2. This is It (Meenakshi Madhavan Reddy): Loved! And totally didn’t expect to, considering I mostly heard that it was a disappointment. But I loved it. It’s chicklit but thoughtful. I’m just going to say it – if I ever write a novel, this is how it’s going to be. This book taught me that it’s possible to write something interesting even if it’s drifty and nothing happens (in a way that Ulysses did not, ha!).

3. Almost Single (Advaita Kala): ok. Readable with some honest moments but generally get the feeling that she shoved in a number of elements that she thought chicklit should have at the expense of properly developing the romantic story.

Also read:
Wolf Hall (Hilary Mantel): Very good. Initially, I found the floaty style a bit disconcerting but then it grows on you and you realize that historical fiction can be stylish too. Now everyone leave names of other excellent historical (and in particular Tudor) fiction (but not Philippa Gregory or Alison Weir because I’ve read both, the former is passable, the latter awesome).

Want to read:
Palace of Illusions (Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni): Although I have not read the Mahabharata. On that note, does anyone know a good English version of the entire Mahabharata that I can read?

