But maybe I should?

This little gem appeared in the South China Morning Post in an article on the couple that founded Mr. and Mrs. Smith, the boutique hotel booking agent. I presume it is one of their tips:

“Book restaurants to guarantee your reservation. Say it’s a special occasion even if it isn’t. That way you should get a good table. “

Apart from the oddness of advising people to outright lie to get a reservation, what I don’t get is this ‘good table’ business. I understand if you’re in show business or a wannabe celebrity. Then, it is necessary to be seen and so you don’t want to shoved in a corner. However, otherwise, how does it matter?

I am sometimes quite happy to be shoved in the back if at a place that a lot of people I know frequent and I don’t want to run into them. I do not cherish being near the kitchen exit or the toilet entrance but if the restaurant is crowded I can understand. Normally, if you make a reservation this does not happen. If there is a nice view, I would like to sit by it, but overall, I’m not fussed.

I am not one of those people who enter a restaurant and make where I sit a point of prestige. Because more often than not, a table is a table is a table. Isn’t it?

Am I missing something? What exactly is a good table?

