What these two books have in common is that they are bothabout ghosts and have a storyline that seems cringe-worthy. Twenties Girl is abouta woman in a dead-end job and emotional rut who is haunted by the ghost of her grand-aunt.The Lovely Bones is about a murdered girl watching her family and the man whomurdered her from heaven. Thanks to the amazing talent of the authors, theyactually work.

That’s where the similarity ends though. I won’t sayanything about Twenties Girl except to those Kinsella fans who read the blurb,rolled your eyes and decided to give it a miss, read it. It’s fun and it works.
I sobbed through The Lovely Bones over the Christmasweekend. V told me I shouldn’t be reading stuff that makes me cry; it’s bad forthe baby. I sniffled in response.
Because I feel things so keenly, I avoid picking books andmovies that I know will make me cry. But this one promised smiles through tearsand for once, I decided to take that chance. I’m glad I did. It’s a poignantread but not morose.
I am convinced now more than ever that the death of a childis the worst thing that can happen to a parent. There is no worse fate. How andwhy do you go on in the face of it?
The book is about the effect of a murder on the entirefamily. It is about growing up in the aftermath of tragedy, ironically toldthrough the eyes of a girl who never got to grow up. Because of the murder,there’s an element of suspense. Although the identity of the murderer is knownto the reader right from the start, the suspense lies partly in whether the livingcharacters in the book will figure it out. But more than the suspense relatedto the murder is the suspense about the family and those affected by the murder– how will they live on? What shape will their lives take? 
