As a follow-up to this post on the category of people I belatedly discovered is called  hipster (oh how they would hate to have been given such a mainstream name), this: We are all creating fictions, all day long, all life long.

My problem, I think, is aesthetics (and therefore I admit it is completely subjective). I find it jarring when the trappings and tools of the creative process are obvious. The work-in-progress look is one thing but, in general, if we’re all acting then let’s perfect the art well enough so that it isn’t so obvious that we are. And let’s try and produce something that’s a bit more original. Otherwise our personalities begin to look like memes, but in an unironic way.

Okay, apparently I have said this before. But the article I linked to legitimizes it.

