Technology has made our lives easier. It has also spawned new forms of laziness.

For example, too lazy to Google. The answer to everything is on Google. Increasingly Google and the Internet remind me of the idea of God – an entity you go to for answers, the key being to ask the right question. Ask and you shall know.

With the Internet now extendable to mobile phones, if anyone has a question about anything, people normally whip out their phone to do a quick google.

However, I’ve noticed that following the initial flurry of enthusiasm for proactive but quick searches for answers to their problems, people seem to have settled back into inertia. So I’ve noticed that people will do blog posts or comment on blogs making statements that could easily be verified (or not) by googling beforehand but they don’t (preferring to say “someone sometime ago said” and its variants).

And I’ve also noticed that sometimes I’m one of these people. So in the course of work, I grammar questions often come up. Instead of googling for the answers, I sometimes just ask MinCat who’s on chat nearly all the time I am. I could google and go through a couple of searches to find a page that answered my question, but it’s easier to just ask a real live person who I presume has the answers.

And then, there’s Facebook. It has this inexplicable system whereby suddenly a photo you posted ages ago is resurrected and people keep commenting on it. If it’s a photo of your baby, the comments will be a variation of “so cute”. I fully appreciate people appreciating my baby but how to respond to these comments. Okay, I know I should be saying “thanks” but apparently I’m too lazy for that (I resort to a “group thanks”). MinCat pointed out that the Facebook solution is to “like” these kinds of comments. And then I confessed sheepishly that I’ve become too lazy to “like”.

 

There are probably new depths of sloth I can descend to. Let technology throw a new ball at me and I will respond with a new way I am too lazy to use it.

