9: triumph [CREATE]

 How were you challenged by a project or goal this year? What did you learn from it?

So I was coasting along nicely at work when my boss assigned me the job of revamping one of our publications. You’d think this was a good thing, but this was the publication I was least interested in and which suited my capabilities least as well. Also, she teamed me up with a girl I had got quite close to at work which, again, you might think was a good thing, but I dislike working with friends because work necessarily means getting annoyed and I’d rather be annoyed with someone I don’t have a weekly lunch with.

My new partner was very enthusiastic and so I had to be too. We ended up with an impressive product, thanks to her pushing and ideas. We got quite a few compliments. Unfortunately, I don’t really feel too thrilled.

The new publication looks good and is more interesting but requires a lot more work, and it came at a time when we already had a lot more work. So the first couple of months have kind of sucked. It is now settling down and maybe I will enjoy this more. Or not. At least I don’t hate looking at the damn thing, which I used to in its previous avatar.

What did I learn from this? I don’t know. To take one step at a time and breathe, I guess. I kind of already knew that, but executing it is the story of my life right now.

