What distant memory/time did you find yourself longing for in 2012?

Sometime ago, V commented that childhood is the time we all hark back to. This was certainly true for me until my 20s. I remember doing a simple personality quiz that diagnosed me as stuck in the period from 5-12 and it struck me as very accurate.

In my 30s now, I am more realistic about my childhood. I definitely had a good childhood. A comfortable one, with necessities and a lot of extras provided, and a very loving family environment. I grew up in a building surrounded by friends and have amazing memories of summer holidays spent almost entirely downstairs. But I did have my insecurities as a child. In my first and second standard of primary school, I was practically friendless. I found secondary school extremely boring, although friends made up for it. I was mentally precocious but physically an awkward teenager.

The time I hark back to now is my early 20s. My personality was formed. I was confident in my looks. I was secure in my friendships. The period from 21-24 in particular was my heyday. I was the most social and confident I have ever been. I looked the best I ever have. I attracted people, friends and lovers. It was a time of romance, intense friendships, experimentation and joie de vivre.

I don’t necessarily want to go back to those heady days –  though I wouldn’t mind going back to those looks – but that period is the touchstone of who I am.

 

