What was the best gift you gave someone this year?
give [CREATE]: This post is part of Weverb12.

Lame I know, but I can only say time. Time is a commodity I treasure, having so little of it, and give away in grudging slivers. I am even more kanjoos with leave from office. But I took two days off to be with my friend when she was undergoing chemotherapy. I can’t say I’ve always been the best friend to her, we have had our difficulties through the year, but I’m glad I took that leap and gave of my precious time.

I also spared V a couple of days. Again, it sounds strange to be negotiating time with one’s spouse but somewhere in my head is a dictum that states: “All spare time must be allocated to the children and their needs.” So much as it gave me a pang, I acceded to his request to be vela with him while he used up his never-ending supply of leave. All this has resulted me in something of a leave crisis, with technically no leave left to make the trip to India in February but I’m trying to zen about it and have faith that something (HR) will come through.

I think those two sort of answer the next prompt too, which is:

Did you have a perfect day this year? Describe it. Would you have changed anything about it?

The problem with looking back is one can’t remember to the start of the year. Although this year was largely bleh, I had many great days and most of them involved spending time with my family, especially my kids, such as this one and this one. The above two time outs count as well. As does my time in India.

So I had several happy days, the ingredients of which were: 1. Good company and conversation 2. Fresh air 3. Laughter 4. Some me-time.

