The Oscars were kind of meh when it came to fashion, but Cannes this year is like a candy store. Maybe it’s because there are so many people from different film industries apart from just Hollywood. And some of the most memorable looks were from women from my neck of the woods (by which I mean India and China, because my neck stretches quite far.)

If I had to pick my absolute favourite, it would be Sonam Kapoor in Dolce and Gabbana. Although there were some critiques that the bodice was too tight and her hair too much, overall, it’s an unforgettable look. And the hair is admirably glossy, which might be because she’s a L’Oreal girl. I’m assuming L’Oreal does shampoo (is L’Oreal going to hunt me down for this question?)

sonam-kapoor-in-dolce-gabbana

The refreshing thing was the colour. So much colour. And the ladies from China showed us how it’s done. My second favourite look was Fan Bingbing:

fan-bingbing-cannes-film-festival-2013-h724

Zhang Yuqi had a bit of a mishap with her plunging neckline but the drama of her dress won me over

370523-actress-zhang-yuqi-poses-on-the-red-carpet-as-she-arrives-for-the-scre

Freida Pinto gave us a lesson in colour too. In fact, though the pink took my breath away, later her Sanchita look grew on me more.

Indian-actress-Freida-Pinto-poses-on-May-15-2013-as-she-arrives-for-the-screening-of-the-film-The-Great-Gatsby-ahead-of-the-opening-of-the-66th-edition-of-the-Cannes-Film-Festival-in-Cannes- freida-pinto-cannes_1

This look on Nieves Alvarez was the first that clued me into the goodness of Cannes:

Nieves+Alvarez+Ralph+Russo+Couture+Cannes+2013+1

Like Sonam, Nicole Kidman also showed us princess doesn’t have to mean floor length.

Opening Ceremony And 'The Great Gatsby' Premiere - The 66th Annual Cannes Film Festival

And finally, my girl crush also in pink shoes, Jennifer Lawrence

Jennifer+Lawrence+Christian+Dior+THGP+Cannes+2013+1

There are actually more but I’m trying to restrain myself.

