I’m in the mood for memoirs so I picked these two off the library shelf. Loved both.

How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents

garcia

I had already read this one by Julia Alvarez and learnt a lot, but this book I loved loved loved. It’s not a chronological narratives but little vignettes with each of the four girls in the family as narrators. They talk about life as immigrants to America, they talk about their impressions of ‘back home’, but most of all they talk about what it’s like to be women everywhere.

While reading this book, I realised how much I love women. That’s a phrase that I often hear men use when they’ve just said or are going to say something misogynistic. But I say it without qualification. Women are so interesting and awesome. I love being around, talking to, listening to, learning about women. Conversations between women tend to have a great deal of depth, emotional awareness and nuance, that I have not experienced in conversations with men.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian

parttimeindian

That said, I thoroughly enjoyed this book too, male protagonist notwithstanding. This is book reminds me that should pick more young adult stuff (shout out to MinCat here) because I enjoy the hormone-addled and yet fresh perspectives of the teenager. Teenage angst is teenage angst, even in the most unusual of situations. There is a lot of struggle in this  novel but there’s humour and joy too. And there are sketches too, which you’d never find in an adult novel.

It reminded me of Mayil, and yeah, I’m going to get my hands on the latest Mayil book soon (shout out to Gounder Brownie here!).

