Benji wants to be Princess Elsa. I don’t blame him. Elsa’s the exciting one with the best song. The helpers try to convince him to be Hans or ‘the guy with the reindeer’. I want them to Let It Go.

 ***

Mimi calls Benji her sister. “Your brother, you mean,” I say. “There’s so such thing as brother or sister,” says V sarcastically, mimicking something I said a while ago. “Okay fine,” I say. Language is pointlessly gendered and I’m conflicted on whether to drive that home or not.

 ***

Mimi loves to choose my clothes. She picks a skimpy nightie I haven’t worn in ages. Everyone does a double take when I emerge. “Mimi chose it,” I say sheepishly, though I’m not terribly put out at having to wear it. It’s hot. The less clothes the better. Five minutes later, Mimi loudly asks: “You don’t want any pants?” Hmph. How did I land up with this closet conservative as a daughter?

 She did it again. I was wearing a vest and no bra. “Why are you not wearing any clothes?” she asks worriedly.

 ***

Phonetics is not Benji’s string point 

“Sh sh sh shark,” he says. “Sh sh sh fish.” “Not sh fish, fuh fish,” V corrects. “Fuh fuh fuh fish, fuh fuh fuh octopus,” Benji continues, merrily missing the point. 

 ***

“I don’t like you, I love you daddy,”  says Mimi.

 “Love you daddy,” Benji throws in as an afterthought as he wanders around with his water bottle. 

 ***

They are playing the game in which you catch fish with a pole. It’s hard. “Nevermind, it’s too difficult,” I say. “It’s not too difficult, mummy,” they say, their brows furrowed as they persevere.

Another games they love playing – taking torches into dark rooms and pretending to be space explorers. I leave them to it and resist the urge to peep in as it spoils things for the.

***

Mimi has turned into a reader. Obsessively, like me. She wants to be read to at any free moment. When she wakes up, when she’s eating, when she’s bored. “You did this,” says V. I did. I’m both horrified and happy. The little surpriser continues to surprise.

 ***

We found mushrooms blossoming under a tree in the garden. The kids were super excited about them and kept running around showing them to anyone who could be bothered to look. Clearly fascination with mushrooms is genetic. Also snails. And owls.

***

Grandma is here. Before she arrived, when I asked Benji if he was happy she was coming, he’d say a loud “No!” When Grandma walked in, Mimi burst into tears, her way of dealing with new people. It took all of five minutes for them to become her fan club. “Where’s grandma?” they ask if she disappears from sight for even a minute. I feel sorry for her what with their ardent stalking, but she seems to be loving it so far.

 

