There were lots of pretty dresses at Cannes this year, more than the Oscars I think, and since I have a moment to faff, and also my period which legitimizes all manner of timepass, here are my humble opinions:

Our Indian ladiz did quite well. Sonam has become the one to watch. For example:

sonamblue

I did not love the dress, but it is striking. The main thing I dislike is her hair. It’s a weird shade of brown.

But then she did this:

sonam-kapoor_big bird

The big bird look did not impress. She also did a number of overdressed appearances at things. Thankfully she finished with this:

sonam kapoor last day cannes 2

Then there was Aishwarya who has discovered a striking shade of lipstick.

aishwarya1may20

Then there was Katrina Kaif also in red. Some thought it was too much, but I think it worked. Uncle Oscar is always a good choice. Except she might have kept her hair black.

Cannes-20151

Speaking of desi stars, for once Mindy Kaling did herself justice:

rs_634x1024-150518103025-634.Mindy-Kaling-Cannes.jl.051815

Closer to my neck of the woods, the Chinese actresses always tend to be impeccable but safe. But I loved this one:

fan-bingbing

I also really liked Charlotte Casiraghi’s dress, though I think someone else might have given it more pizazz. I remember reading this Vogue article rhapsodizing about how gorgeous her lips are and I could only think um, people will fawn over royalty no matter what.

charlotte-casiraghi

Speaking of royalty of the fashion kind, we can always rely on Queen Cate. Everyone was going gaga about this one:

Cate-Blanchett-Cannes-Fil-Festival-2015-Movie-Premiere-Red-Carpet-Giles-Tom-Lorenzo-Site-TLO-4

But I much preferred this:

attends the

Much as I love the glamour of it all, this is not on.

