The morning K left was dedicated to discovering Aboriginal culture which was my one must-do thing in Melbourne.

First of all, my body had apparently gone into shock because went to bed at 10 pm and woke up at 3 am. Of course, I ended up having to rush to the Royal Botanic Gardens for the Aboriginal Heritage Walk. The problem is that the gardens are huge and it’s super hard to find directions to the visitor centre. I finally ended up calling, and getting directions and reaaching in the nick of time. The walk itself was lovely, just the thing I needed. The guide was of Aboriginal descent and gave us a lot of information about the local Boonarong tribe as well as his own tribe.

The walk opened with a traditional smoking ceremony which is a way of welcoming visitors.

He showed us different plants and what they’re used for.

This plant had fragrant leaves and the cone could be used to carry fire.

The paper bark tree: Apart from the bark being used as paper and for warmth, the tree likes being hugged.

Tea tree oil is made out of the leaves of this tree. It’s interesting how many of these trees have fragrant leaves.

The Eucalyptus.We saw a cockatoo poking its head out of the hollow.

img_3150

The patterns of the plants began to really inspire me. Like the bark of the tree above or the fern below.

After the talk, I hung around the Botanic Gardens and had a sandwich I had packed. This was my view.

IMG_3153

On the way back, I passed the Shrine of Remembrance which honours Australians who fought in the World War. I’m always surprised how scenic Melbourne is and how the architecture is a mix of old and new.

IMG_3157

Inspired by what I had learnt about Aboriginal culture, I headed to the Ian Potter Centre to check out some Aboriginal art. The work is truly stunning, and there is also a great collection of Australian modernist art, but my feet were killing me by that time so I had to call it a day. I also stopped at the Koorie Heritage Trust Centre which has a small collection of Aboriginal artefacts and art. There I picked up a book by Anita Heiss, who writes Aboriginal chick lit.

