Nene’s eyes seem to be settling down. On his second week of steriod drops, at least I see no redness, and the swelling is down. I hope the drops can be stopped soon, but at this moment I’m just happy to see progress.

***

I submitted my chapter. I feel so relieved, and although I have like many more to do, I can’t seem to focus on the next one.

***

I had my first squabble on the PTA whatsapp group. Someone was clearly enervated with a line of (factual) questioning I was pursuing and went: “FFS, it’s this…” Please enlighten me hear if you have any other understanding of that acronym, but as far as I know it means “for fuck’s sake” which I think is inappropriate for a parents whatsapp group. I said so, she actually jeered at me for not knowing the meaning of it, so I screencapped the Google result and since then not a peep out of her. Some people are mental really. I wish it hadn’t come to that, I was rattled that morning and it was drama I could have done without.

***

Mimi had her mid-term break and I managed to sneak in some time with her. I took her to a cafe for breakfast after dropping Nene off to school and then to the park later. She ate every scrap of the (very substandard I must say) English breakfast and later commented that it was “so fun”. Then, on the last day of her break, I took her to office with me to pick up my computer. She played with stuff on my desk while I did a spot of work, and then we went to a park near my uni, which is one of the rare ones with lots of grass and not one but five swing sets. There were no kids there so Mimi had her pick, followed up by picking up sticks, unsuccessfully trying to smash fallen almonds, and drawing in the sand. That park usually has a couple of fat cats lying around, but they weren’t unfortunately absent, possibly due to the heat.

Save

